As I’ve been working out all the kinks of my new diet, my fiance has been a real trooper.  His support actually never ceases to amaze me and the other morning when he made us breakfast was no different.

I think I had intended to whip something up before we got on the road, but because mornings are my very least favorite thing I was running behind…. again….
I believe the conversation about breakfast went something like this…
Him: “honey, what did you have in mind for breakfast?”
Me:”I don’t know, we have some eggs in there and that beet hash I made for dinner last night….”
Him:”uh…. okay…”

So rather than getting frustrated with me, and my new desire to make our lives just a little bit more difficult…. he made us the most amazing breakfast sandwhiches!

The Sandwich:
4 thick Slices Tomato
1c. Beet Hash
4 Eggs
4 Slices of Bread, Toasted
Olive Oil
Begin by beating the eggs until yolks are incorporated into whites.  Slowly mix in the hash. Add olive oil to a pan and allow wait until the oil is very hot, about 2 minutes over medium heat. Pour egg mixture into pan and allow to set. Flip the mixture over, like an omlette, and allow the other side to set. Remove from heat. Place the egg mixture over two slices of toast and top each with two slices of tomato. Place the second slice of bread on the plate and serve!
Beet Hash:
4-6 Red Beets
8 Fingerling Potatoes
Olive Oil
1 Sprig Fresh Rosemary, chopped
1 Sprig Fresh Thyme, chopped
Salt and Pepper
Preheat oven to 300. Boil the beats and potatoes for about 10 minutes, then drain and let cool. Slice the potatoes and beets into thin strips, about 2″x1/4″. Toss the beets and potatoes with thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper. Put mix onto a cookie sheet and bake at 300 for 20 minutes.
